It’s been awhile.

Well, not much to talk about, I’ve just been working and vegetating, and pretty much avoiding the stuff I really should be doing. 

I’m not sure why I have an easier time fixing other people’s  cars than I do fixing my own.  It took me almost 2 years to fix the front wheel bearing on my truck, but in my defense I had already fixed it 2 1/2 years ago, but it turns out it was the wrong side.  Fortunately I had decided to change the brakes on both sides, so I bought the parts for both sides, the brake rotor setup on the 4wd Chevy Colorado is a masterpiece of engineering for the wrong reasons, you have to remove the hub and bearing assembly in order to remove the rotor, it’s bolted to the back side of the hub, oh what a joy to remove.

My ’78 Scirocco needs a new head, and all of the motor mounts, rear motor mount failed to the point that then engine is rocking back causing the header to ride against the axle shaft and every time I accelerate it pulls the header away from the head, and now it’s ripped out 3 of the lower exhaust studs, so I’m basically running an open exhaust.  I was pulled over because the cop couldn’t hear his radio over my exhaust, a block away, so I put the car away until I can get around to swapping heads and installing the motor mounts.

Pretty much it for what I’ve been up to, exciting huh.

Leave a comment